Testing and the Heartwood Bakery

21 Jun

 Alright, first up is another Vegan Yum Yum test dish, Pineapple Baked Tofu with a Coconut Reduction sauce.  This was so good, possibly my fave dish so far (though it’s hard to choose!) and oh. my. god. the sauce!  I may be in love with it.

 Yesterday, I went to one of my favourite restaurants here in Halifax, the Heartwood Bakery on Quinpool Road.  The food here is not only delicious, it is also very healthy-even the desserts!  Not only does it mainly feature vegan dishes but also offers a lot for people with food allergies/intolerances. I had a sesame kamut pasta dish that was realllly good but sadly I did not get a picture of it.  But I did get a picture of dessert, a Chocolate Cashew “Cheese”cake, which was heavenly.  The picture’s not the greatest, I need to work on my picture taking skills in public.

4 Responses to “Testing and the Heartwood Bakery”

  1. Tracy June 23, 2007 at 5:00 pm #

    Wow! That all looks great! I’ve never actually been to Heartwood, mostly because I’m afraid that the food will be “too vegan-y” for my 12 and 13 year olds. (If you know what I mean…the veggies they like are still somewhat limited. But that cake looks so good I think I might have to get there soon!

  2. ashmacaroon June 24, 2007 at 7:54 pm #

    You have to go there, Tracy! (with or without the kids! 😉 ) But yeah, I know what you mean, I know when I was around that age I think I liked a total of 4 kinds of vegetables.

  3. B.A.D. October 27, 2007 at 11:00 pm #

    God I love heartwood. I wish they were open tomorrow. T.T

  4. ashmacaroon October 28, 2007 at 9:57 am #

    Have you been there since they’ve renovated? It’s totally different now, it’s sit-down and order, no more buffet! The food’s still delicious as always though, I had a pumpkin spice cheezecake the other day.

Leave a Reply

