This was supposed to be a pie…

6 Jun

 

Say hello to Blush!  I will be adding him to my posts that showcase produce from the Farmer’s Market, courtesy of A Veggie Venture and I encourage you to do the same!

I got this wonderful rhubarb from my Farmer’s Market last weekend and really wanted to turn it into a pie. So last night, I started out by making a strawberry and rhubarb filling intending to bake a pie.  No problems arose during the creating of this filling.  On to the pie crust.  I made the dough, no problems there either.  The dough was actually turning out quite nicely.  Until it was time to roll it out.  Uhhh…where’s the rolling pin?  The rolling pin is nowhere to be found!  We’re actually missing quite a number of kitchen accessories since we remodeled the kitchen.  Mixing bowls, measuring cups, whisk, and as I discovered last night-the rolling pin.  And I also discovered it is impossible (for me anyway) to roll out dough without a rolling pin.  I tried a glass and a bottle of kaluha but with no luck.  The dough dried up and was rendered useless.

At this point, I was rather frustrated so I threw the filling in a pie plate and made up a topping on the spot.  Thus, this crisp was born.  It actually turned out quite nice, fresh and excellent for a warm, sunny day like today.  The filling was based on the Strawberry-Peach-Rhubarb pie filling in Vegan with a Vengeance and it was very tasty.  The topping consisted of oats, brown sugar, cinnamon, canola oil…and a few other ingredients, I was rather angry while making it so I can’t be sure, ha ha.

5 Responses to “This was supposed to be a pie…”

  1. Alanna June 7, 2007 at 10:49 am #

    Oh dear, no rolling pin. And too bad about the bottle, that’s always the suggested backup plan and I always assumed it would work fine. Good luck the next time! (Hi Blush!)

  2. harmonia June 7, 2007 at 12:28 pm #

    Great blog! Always looking for more Veg*n blogs!

  3. Laura Faye June 7, 2007 at 1:06 pm #

    Aww…sorry your pie crust didn’t work out. The crisp looks really good, though!

    Tzippy

  4. Celine June 8, 2007 at 10:23 am #

    well, it still looks amazing, so HA!

  5. ashmacaroon June 8, 2007 at 5:51 pm #

    Thanks everyone! Yeah, the crust was a disappoinment but hopefully once I find that rolling pin I’ll be able to successfully bake a pie. *fingers crossed*

Leave a Reply

