Saturday Market Stirfry

2 Jun

This morning, taking advantage of the beautiful summer-type weather I went to the Farmer’s Market.  I love the Farmer’s Market, I don’t go there nearly as much as I want to.  Not to mention that the Halifax Farmer’s Market (not that I’ve been to many other city’s farmer’s markets) is a total haven for vegans.  Tofu, fake cheeses, dips, muffins, and fudge from Acadiana Soy Products.  Seitan, bread, buns, cookies and a variety of other delicious and healthy baked goods at Big Life.  And of course, lots and lots of wonderful, local produce.

One of my purchases of the morning was organic swiss chard.  It was so pretty and colourful, I couldn’t resist it.  Tonight for supper I made with it a simple stir fry.  What to go with such a pretty vegetable?  Tofu hearts!  Sometimes, I feel the need to make my marinated tofu adorable so I cut it into little hearts.

5 Responses to “Saturday Market Stirfry”

  1. cherie June 3, 2007 at 11:24 am #

    That looks so beautiful and fresh!

  2. Celine June 4, 2007 at 5:43 am #

    yummy!!! I love my cookie cutters too. wait, is it what you used?

  3. ashmacaroon June 4, 2007 at 11:01 am #

    Thanks Cherie!

    Yup, Celine, I used a teeny tiny cookie cutter. I love it! I need to get more mini shapes.

  4. getsconed June 4, 2007 at 8:26 pm #

    Oh, I love shaped tofu! adorable.

  5. ashmacaroon June 5, 2007 at 9:58 am #

    Thanks Jess!

Leave a Reply

