Banana Bread

31 May

Sitting on my counter this morning were 3 over-ripe bananas that needed to be turned into something-soon.  What to bake?  Banana bread, of course!  I used a recipe I found on vegweb, I was drawn to it as it used whole wheat flour and other good stuff and didn’t use a whole lot of sugar.  The results were delicious, I liked the slightly different texture the flax meal and cornmeal contributed to and as of this afternoon more than half of the loaf is gone with only three people eating it.

“Grammy Cooks Banana Bread”
Makes 1 loaf

    1 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour (I just used plain ol’ regular whole wheat)
    2 teaspoons baking powder
    1/4 teaspoon baking soda
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    2 tablespoons flax seed meal 
    2 tablespoons corn meal
    1/4 cup oil
    1/2 cup sugar
    1 cup mashed bananas
    1/2 cup water
    1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans, optional

1.  Mix first six ingredients well.
2.  Mix next four ingredients well.
3.  Mix both together and stir in nuts if you want.
4.  Pour into sprayed loaf pan and bake at 350 for 45-50 minutes.
 

One Response to “Banana Bread”

  1. tippitappi July 3, 2007 at 5:55 pm #

    Looks nice, I want to try it, but without the flaxseed meal, I can’t get it here in Reggio Emilia… I know what it is but I don’t think I can grind the flaxseeds that well…

Leave a Reply

