Pina Colada Cupcakes Recipe

27 May

Ok, for the Pina Colada Cupcakes, I simply made some changes to the Pineapple Right-Side-Up Cupcakes in Vegan Cupcakes will Take Over the World.  Basically, I just threw out the spices, reduced the pineapple and added coconut milk and played around with the extracts a bit.  I think the results were very good.  They tasted amazing and were wonderfully moist.  Though I should note that I’ve never actually had a Pina Colada so feel free to make adjustments to your liking and let me know how they turn out. 

Pina Colada Cupcakes 

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup crushed pineapple
1/2 cup coconut milk
1/4 cup canola oil
1/2 cup + 2 tbsp  sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp coconut extract

1.  Preheat oven to 350, line pan with liners.

2.  Sift flour, baking powder, and salt together.

3.  Puree the pineapple, coconut milk, oil, sugar in a food processor or blender. 

4.  Make a well in the centre of the dry mix, pour in the wet mix.  Mix well.

5.  Fill the liners.  I got 8 cupcakes using the baking cups pictured.

6.  Bake for 25 minutes.  Cool completely.

Coconut Frosting

1/4 cup earth balance
1/4 cup shortening
3/4 cup icing sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp coconut extract
about a tbs of coconut milk
yellow food colouring

1.  Cream earth balance and shortening until fluffy.

2.  Sift in the icing sugar.  Stir for a few minutes.

3.  Beat in extracts and coconut milk.

4.  Stir in food colouring until you get a nice pina-colada-ish shade.

5 Responses to “Pina Colada Cupcakes Recipe”

  1. Mihl May 31, 2007 at 12:01 pm #

    I saw the pictures of those cupcakes on flicker. To die for! I never had a Pina Colada as well but I love the combination of coconut and pineapple.

  2. ashmacaroon May 31, 2007 at 1:48 pm #

    Thanks! Agreed, coconut + pineapple=heaven.

  3. Amy June 16, 2007 at 7:27 am #

    Oh YUM! I have got to try these. I’ve never had Pina Coladas either but yup, pinapple + coconut definately equals heaven. I can’t wait!

  4. Sammy July 25, 2008 at 11:47 pm #

    I made these for a vegan potluck and they were the hit of the party! I made a couple additions: I cut the tops off the cupcakes and added a pineapple filling (basically pineapple juice cooked with sugar to form a think pineapple syrup). Then I put the cupcake tops back on, frosted with coconut frosting, sprinkled dried coconut on top, and topped with a fresh pineapple wedge. They were so pretty! Thanks for the recipe!

  5. karlye May 19, 2010 at 10:57 am #

    I just made these last night and they are some of the most delicious things I have EVER tried. The only thing I did differently was put some toasted coconut and a maraschino cherry on top. So cute! Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

