Jelly Donut Cupcakes

23 May

That’s right.  Jelly Donuts in cupcake form!  I think we can all agree that everything is better in cupcake form.

 These cupcakes were really good, they had a nice spongy crumb and the filling was baked right into the cupcake.  Delicious and simple!  I filled mine with Strawberry Rhubarb Pomegranate Jam, sooo good.  However, I must have used too much jam or something, as I had a slight problem with all of the jam sinking into the cake, some of the jam just sat atop the cupcake.  Maybe I was supposed to help the jam before baking?  No worries though, the powdered sugar had no problem covering the mishap.

This is an Isa and Terry recipe that was published in the latest issue of VegNews but since it seems to take VegNews forever to get the latest issue on stands in my area I got this recipe from VegNews’ site where they posted the article online.
Jelly Donut Cupcakes Recipe

3 Responses to “Jelly Donut Cupcakes”

  1. Celine May 24, 2007 at 5:55 am #

    yeah I had the same prob with the jam the first time I made it. 1/4 t is really the maximum you should aim for. how sad, eh?
    thanks for the link to the recipe! if that’s ok with you, I’ll post it on my blog too because a lot of people had asked for it when I posted my jelly donut cuppers pics.

  2. ashmacaroon May 24, 2007 at 8:51 am #

    No problem at all, share the cupcake love!

    1/4 t? I was way off, I used a HEAPING tsp!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. jelly doughnut cupcakes and other stuff « have cake, will travel! - May 24, 2007

    […] lot of people wanted the recipe for these babies when I posted the pic a long time ago, and Ash found a link to it and other cupcake recipes! hooray, […]

Leave a Reply

