It’s here!

19 May

The oven!  It’s here!  No more grilling in the cold/rain/other undesirable weather!

It’s definitely a lot different than the oven I’m used to, it’s a convection, so I need to learn how to use it properly.  Shortly after its arrival, after quickly reading the instructions, I set out to bake chocolate chip cookies.  (I veganized the tollhouse recipe)  Well…something(s) went wrong.  They tasted alright enough but they weren’t very pretty (at all really) and you couldn’t hold them-not in a crumbly sort of way, they’d just sort of stretch.  After this fiasco, I reread the instructions and discovered I definitely missed some important points in the manual.  Ah well, guess I’ll just have to bake more cookies.

Now on to a success, I was flipping through Vegan with a Vengeance and realized that I had never tried the Jerk Seitan AND I actually had all of the ingredients. Well almost, I didn’t have seitan but I figured I could use tofu in its place.  I figured correctly.  It was delicious, perfectly spiced, and a cinch to make.  Here it is, my success of the day in all of its glory.

2 Responses to “It’s here!”

  1. Celine May 21, 2007 at 4:35 pm #

    yumyum, you make me want to try the recipe!

  2. ashmacaroon May 21, 2007 at 4:50 pm #

    You have to try it for sure! I think it may just become a staple meal for me.

Leave a Reply

