Vegan Mofo: Book Review

2 Oct

I have quite a few cookbooks.  Almost all of which are vegan.  But I tend to get stuck on cookbooks, only cooking from one or two books for a time which is a shame because there are a lot of really great vegan cookbook authors out there and I feel that I don’t give them all an equal chance.  I recently checked out a new book from the library, by a an author that’s brand new to the vegan cookbook scene-Get it Ripe by jae steele and I’d thought I’d give it a little review for Vegan Mofo and to get me out of this cookbook rut.

Get it Ripe is a book that focuses on the benefits of holistic living and whole foods.  Why should you take her advice to heart?  Because a) She doesn’t judge!  Her methods of explanation are accessible and don’t make you feel guilty for what you eat (or don’t eat).  and b) She’s a registered holistic nutritionist!  and finally c) She runs a pretty awesome blog too.

The book is divided into a few sections, chapters that give you guides for a healthy diet and lifestyle, cooking and recipes.  The recipes are diverse and many and for this review, I’ll be trying out a some recipes from a few of these chapters.

Now this may not come as a shock to you but I have a little bit of a sweet tooth so I was really interested in trying jae’s desserts which are much healthier than the ones I usually make.  First up were the Date Squares.  I love date squares, maybe that makes me sound like an old lady but whatever, I really like them.  And these did not disappoint, I love my date squares to have a lot of crust and crumbles and these had just that.  I shared these with my mom (the only other person in the family who likes date squares!) and these had us returning to the pan to sneak more.  Note my super cute cupcake mug.

Date Square

Next up is something I whipped up for lunch one day: jae’s Sesame Kale Soba.  I knew I would love it because it featured many of my favourite ingredients that make up a meal (kale, sesame and tamari) and loved it I did!  Not only was it delicious but it took all of ten minutes to prepare.  This will definitely be a mainstay for suppers to make when I just get in the door and am famished.

Sesame Kale Soba

For lunch, I made the Chickpea Salad.  I ate this while studying for a test and it made the perfect study food, satisfying and nourishing.  And another meal that was quick to make, excellent when you’re short on time!

Chickpea Salad

Other recipes I tried and loved but I neglected to take a photo of:

  • Barbecue Baked Tofu  (Really easy, I just made the sauce, marinated the tofu, went to work and when I went home popped the two in the oven and I had a delicious and satisfying supper!)
  • Crispy Fried Tofu:  SO easy and quick.  SO good.

I really hope that you give Get it Ripe a chance, it’s becoming one of my favourite coobooks.  So much for getting out of my cookbook rut, ha ha.

17 Responses to “Vegan Mofo: Book Review”

  1. VeggieGirl October 2, 2008 at 9:10 am #

    DATE SQUARES!!! I guess I’m an old lady too then, because I loooove the sound of those, especially, haha ;-)

    Fabulous cookbook review!!

  2. Celine October 2, 2008 at 10:26 am #

    this book has been haunting my wishlist for I don’t know how long…it’s probably time I broke down and bought it, but my wallet is still threatening to bite me every time I do approach it.

  3. jae October 2, 2008 at 11:15 am #

    hey ashley, thanks for this!
    i’m really glad the book’s working out so well for you.
    if you’re on facebook, do come find me (and the Get It Ripe group) there.
    also, have you seen the new cooking videos?:

    http://youtube.com/getitripe

  4. Ricki October 2, 2008 at 12:12 pm #

    So nice to see a fellow CSNN grad being featured! Just came from one of jae’s talks last week and got my own copy. . . my kinda stuff! Thanks for the great review and delicous photos :)

  5. Vegan_Noodle October 2, 2008 at 12:23 pm #

    Great review!! I’ll have to check out this book!

    Oh, and I love your cupcake mug :-)

  6. amey October 2, 2008 at 12:34 pm #

    thanks for the book review. I haven’t heard much about this book, so it’s great to see some pictures and read some reviews. i’ll add it to my wishlist!

  7. Kati October 2, 2008 at 12:40 pm #

    All those recipes look fantastic! I need to check out that book.

  8. Cody October 2, 2008 at 3:41 pm #

    Oh, those noodles look so yummy. (And as a wanna-be teacup and mug collector, the cupcake mug is making me a little jealous.)

    Get it Ripe caught my eye in Bust this month, but hasn’t officially made it to my “to read” list until now.

  9. Vegyogini October 2, 2008 at 3:49 pm #

    Thanks for the review! Our library system doesn’t have a copy yet, but I’ve been waiting to try it out. I’m sure I’ll buy it once I’ve read the library copy. :)

  10. Tami October 2, 2008 at 4:25 pm #

    What a great review. I have yet to get my hands on a copy in the library or bookstore, now I’m really anxious!

    Your photos are always so well done.

  11. bex October 2, 2008 at 5:56 pm #

    I picked up this book but I haven’t had the chance to make anything from it. Like you I should make the time to do that for MoFo.

  12. B36Kitchen October 3, 2008 at 1:00 am #

    I’m really leaning towards getting this book now.

  13. Melanie October 3, 2008 at 1:07 am #

    I recently bought this too; I couldn’t stop myself! You take better pics than I do, but everything I’ve tried has also been great. This is a great cookbook.

  14. kittee October 3, 2008 at 9:54 am #

    I’m so glad you reviewed this book, for some reason I’ve been thinking it was all raw.

    I’ll have to give it a looksie soon.

    xo
    kittee

  15. Vegannifer October 6, 2008 at 3:36 pm #

    Thanks for the cookbook review. I’d seen it before, but, like kittee, I, too, thought it was all-raw. I’m going to see if I can get it through our library.

  16. Heather October 10, 2008 at 10:31 pm #

    I bought this as soon as you blogged about it (it was on my wish list and this just made the jump easier) and I am soo excited to get to making some things from it. My only real “complaint” about it is the coconut oil in so many of the recipes – I really can’t afford the stuff so I’m wondering if most recipes can be made with just veg or canola? I guess I could e-mail jae and find out. I’ve got a bajillion paper clips inside the book with things I want to make though!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Post Punk Kitchen Blog: Show Us Your Mitts! » Blog Archive » VeganMoFo Round Up For Thursday 10/02 - October 2, 2008

    […] you’ve been wondering about Get It Ripe but can’t make any cookbook buying decisions without the help of the entire internet, then […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

