Esme’s Special Sauce

20 Feb

I can’t believe I haven’t blogged about Esme’s Special Sauce from over at the PPK Forums. I make this sauce quite a lot because it’s super quick and so tasty. Excellent student fare indeed.

Esme's Special Sauce!

Esme’s Special Sauce

In a small bowl mix up the following in equal parts:
Tahini
Miso
Soy Sauce (I always use tamari because it’s my favourite thing ever)
Olive Oil
Nutritional Yeast or Mustard
Lemon Juice or Vinegar
A few cloves of Garlic.

Toss with hot, cooked pasta. That’s it, you’re done! It’s excellent with greens, I usually have it with steamed brocolli. My favourite thing about this sauce is how incredibly versatile it is and how I usually have the ingredients for it on hand. When I made it today I didn’t have any tahini or lemon so I used peanut butter and lime and it made quite the tasty peanut sauce.  I make it all the time when I’m short on time (or not, it’s so good).

9 Responses to “Esme’s Special Sauce”

  1. Romina February 20, 2008 at 4:53 pm #

    Mmm. Thanks for sharing the recipe! This is a must try.

  2. Lori- pleasantly plump vegan February 20, 2008 at 10:35 pm #

    that looks so good!

  3. melisser February 21, 2008 at 3:58 am #

    Sounds like a quick, easy, & tasty sauce!

  4. Bianca February 21, 2008 at 7:57 pm #

    So simple, yet it sounds so delicious. The best things in life are easy! (except for whores…they’re not really the best things, but they are easy….)

  5. vegan blog tracker February 21, 2008 at 8:56 pm #

    Wow, that’s easy enough!

  6. Gregorio February 21, 2008 at 10:23 pm #

    I think I”ll have to try this one.

  7. vegetation February 23, 2008 at 6:14 am #

    Thanks for reminding me about Esme’s sauce! It’s SO good (I haven’t had it for ages!)

  8. VeggieGirl February 23, 2008 at 7:27 pm #

    Looks like a great meal!! I’m partial to the broccoli side-dish ;0)

  9. veganlinda February 27, 2008 at 2:38 pm #

    I made this the other day after seeing your post and we are hooked! I didn’t have broccoli so put some frozen peas on and everyone in the family loved it! My husband just asked me to make it again tonight. I used the leftover sauce to make baked tofu and it was yummy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

