Cinnamon Swirl Loaf

12 Dec

I’ve mentioned my mother’s Cinnamon Quick Bread here before and I was hoping to veganize it and relive its wonderfulness.  I could not find the recipe my mother always used so I searched around the internet to find one that was to my liking.  As I recall frequently enjoying the bread on snow days and today was a snow-ish day, I thought that today would be the perfect day to try it out.  I found one and made quite a few changes.

Cinnamon Swirl Loaf

1 cup soymilk
1 tbs apple cider vinegar
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup canola oil
3/4 cup sugar
1/4 soy yogurt (I used So Nice’s Orginal)

For the Cinnamon-Sugar Mixture:
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 tbs cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease a loaf pan.

1.  In a small bowl, combine the soymilk and the apple cider vinegar.  Set aside so it gets all nice and curdly.
2.  In another small bowl, make the cinnamon-sugar combining the cinnamon and brown sugar with a fork.
3.  In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.
4.  In a separate large bowl, beat together the canola oil, sugar and soy yogurt.
5.  Add the flour mixture, along with the soymilk/vinegar to the sugar mixture in batches.  (I did this in three batches)
6.  Add a third of the batter to loaf pan and then sprinkle with the Cinnamon-Sugar.  Repeat this twice.
7.  Bake for 45-50 minutes until a toothpick or a knife is inserted into the loaf comes out clean.
8.  Cool and enjoy with a healthy dab of earth balance!

I really love the way it turned out!  It has a wonderful texture and is just as delicious as I remember it.  Next time, I’ll run a knife through the batter for more swirly goodness like my mother did with her bread.  But other than that, I wouldn’t change a thing, it’s perfect on a snowy day. 

15 Responses to “Cinnamon Swirl Loaf”

  1. Tamara December 12, 2007 at 10:39 pm #

    Mmm, I saw this post this morning and had to make it today! I used white whole wheat flour and that seemed to work fine. I guess I didn’t cook it long enough though because it’s gooey on the inside… maybe next time I will make it in mini loaf pans, or maybe I just need to cook it longer. But the parts on the edges that were adequately cooked were to-die-for!!! Thanks!

  2. ashmacaroon December 12, 2007 at 11:02 pm #

    Oh awesome! I’m so glad that someone’s tried it! It sucks that it didn’t cook all the way for you though. :-( Mini-loaves are always cute, they make great holiday gifts too!

  3. melisser December 13, 2007 at 5:34 am #

    Ooh, I’ll have to make this! yum yum.

  4. Mihl December 13, 2007 at 7:10 am #

    I recently bought some new mini loaf pans. Now I know what to use them for…
    It’s really cool that this loaf came out the way you wanted it to and tasted like you remembered it!

  5. VeggieGirl December 13, 2007 at 6:55 pm #

    what a lovely, vegan rendition of your mother’s cinnamon swirl loaf!!! turned out fabulous, Ash!!

  6. Lori- pleasantly plump vegan December 13, 2007 at 7:37 pm #

    yum,yum,yum

  7. ashmacaroon December 14, 2007 at 5:37 pm #

    Thanks all! If any of you try it, let me know how it turns out!

  8. SC December 14, 2007 at 9:37 pm #

    I have to try this. Looks too good to pass up. Thanks for the recipe.

  9. fughawzi December 22, 2007 at 10:53 am #

    This looks so good! I’m thinking I’m going to be making this as a gift.

    Just a question though, is that 1/4 cup of soy yoghurt or 1/4 of the little container thingies? I think it’s 1/4 cup, but I just wanted to make sure.

  10. ashmacaroon December 22, 2007 at 11:27 am #

    It’s a 1/4 cup. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did! :-)

  11. textual bulldog December 24, 2007 at 3:21 pm #

    woah, this looks AWESOME! i am definitely going to make this before the holidays end!

  12. soyfreevegan January 7, 2008 at 5:42 pm #

    I tried this yesterday, but I’m allergic to soy so I substituted almond milk for the soy milk (its richer than rice milk so I think it tastes better) and rice yogurt for the soy yogurt. Delicious!

  13. altosaxchica February 24, 2008 at 11:08 am #

    I just made this last night, and it’s fantastic! What a simple recipe with easy-to-find ingredients! I had to sub demerera sugar for the brown, but we still enjoyed it so much. Thanks!

  14. Sala March 8, 2008 at 10:40 pm #

    I found your recipe today when searching for breads/loaves I could make without using eggs. and I have to say… it’s scrumptious.

    I used Organic whole wheat flour, and I didn’t have any brown sugar so I used molasses instead. (I think brown sugar would be better, but if you try it with molasses, keep it away from the sides, and save a little batter to dollop on top of it so it’s more towards the middle of the loaf rather than on the top. )

    Thanks so much for the recipe!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vegan Mofo: Apple Spice Loaf « love like a vegan - October 14, 2008

    [...] ended up using my recipe for Cinnamon Swirl Loaf, and changed the streusal recipe to one I found in this recipe.  It was very good, it develops a [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

