Happy Thanksgiving!

9 Oct

Yup, up here in Canada, we celebrate our Thanksgiving early.  Although this past sunday, I wasn’t quite able to cook everything I wished to as I worked that day.  I was able to cook a few things.

So, on the menu was an assortment of my mom’s vegetables that are traditional to any important meal in my family-mashed potatoes, mashed turnip (although on Martha the other day I discovered that what my family calls turnip is actually rutabaga), carrots and my mom’s awesome preserved beets.  While the rest of my family dined on turkey :-(, my sister and I enjoyed the vegetables, especially the mashed potatoes with Dreena’s Think ‘n’ Rich Gravy drizzled over them.  The gravy is in her latest book, Eat, Drink & be Vegan and it was delicious!  Best gravy I’ve ever had.  My sister is all set to make a vegetarian Poutine with it and I must say, I’m interested in attempting a vegan version.  I made this gravy in a rush as soon as I got home from work and managed to get gravy all over my book.  My book does smell rather good now, though.

I’m always (if anyone else tried to take this role from me, I’d probably get very upset) in charge of dessert and this year I made pumpkin pie (my mom’s favourite ever) and my first attempt at an apple pie.  I used Bryanna’s Pumpkin Pie which I always use because it’s like the most perfect pumpkin pie ever. As I said, it has my mom’s approval. I used this pie crust recipe, it’s so easy and turns out wonderfully flaky.

Ok, speaking of pie crusts…I have the worst luck when it comes to pie crusts, particullary the rolling out of the dough.  So, for the apple pie, I decided to try, once again, a new recipe that hopefully would not fail me.  I veganized a Martha Stewart recipe using EB shortening and well…it failed.  It was the most finicky crust ever!  I was so frustrated and my mom eventually had to help me and between the two of us we managed to get into the freaking pie plate.  It seemed to be baking beautifully in the oven, but after I took it out of the oven, it just collapsed!  What the hell?!  Pies can collapse??  Anyway, it ended up tasting delicious but I’m not going through that again.  I need your help!  Recommend me a never fail roll-out pie crust!  I will conquer pies by Christmas.

So that was my Thanksgiving.  Happy Thanksgiving to my fellow Canadians!  (And, Americans, I look foward to seeing what you’ll be cooking up this November!)

8 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving!”

  1. Caty October 9, 2007 at 6:15 pm #

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Your pie looks really tasty.

  2. VeggieGirl October 9, 2007 at 6:17 pm #

    oh my goodness, you certainly had a wonderful Thanksgiving feast (especially with your pies!! The pumpkin pie looks perfect!!)

    I’m intimidated by the idea of making pie crusts – good luck on your search to find the right one!!

  3. Vegan_Noodle October 10, 2007 at 12:14 am #

    Happy late Canadian Thanksgiving! Your pumpkin pie looks perfect, thanks for the recipe link. I”m saving them up for our Thanskgiving down here in the states. That sucks about the crust. Never trust Martha 🙂

  4. Madness October 10, 2007 at 3:35 pm #

    Hi, I have a vegan no-fail crust. However, part of the no-fail part lies in the finesse. Like, don’t over-handle the dough. When cutting in the earth balance and shortening, mix until it’s just combined and the dough has come together but not more. And after the dough has chilled, roll it out with the flick of your wrist and not like your putting your back into it. Also, when rolling it out try to use the LEAST amount of sprinkled flour and roll between parchment paper.

    Madness’ Sick, Delicious Vegan Crust (but extremely high calorie):
    2 1/2 C. All purpose flour – I use organic and unbleached
    2 TBSP of granulated sugar – I used organic evaporated cane sugar
    1/2 tsp fine sea salt (or reg if that’s what you have)
    1 1/4 sticks of Earth Balance sticks
    1/2 c. vegetable shortening (Earth Balance makes these in sticks too)
    5-7 TBSP of ice water (or more if needed)

    Combine flour, sugar and salt in a large bowl. Slice up the vegan butter and shortening on top the flour mixture and cut with a pastry knife (or your hands) until like coarse meal. Add ice water a few TBSP at a time and mix until dough comes together. Put dough on flat surface (use a lil’ flour if needed) and lightly knead until mixed and looking like a smooth ball o’ dough. Wrap in plastic wrap. Refrigerate for at least an hour. Chillin’ overnight never hurt no kind of dough, and may be ideal. This ball makes enough for a top and bottom.

    Let me know how it goes! And your pumpkin pie looks fantastic. I can’t wait to use the recipe.
    Happy Holidays

  5. ashmacaroon October 10, 2007 at 5:43 pm #

    Thank you so much, Madness! I hope to try it out soon!

  6. jess October 11, 2007 at 9:36 pm #

    That pie is perfection.

  7. Fran October 20, 2007 at 6:07 pm #

    Just found your site & am enjoying reading it. I could never make pie crust until a friend gave me an oil crust recipe that I have used for many years now. It is similar to the one you linked.
    2 cups flour
    2/3 cup oil
    1/3 cup milk ( I have used dairy, coconut, rice & soy)
    pinch of salt

    This is very oily so I roll it out between 2 pieces of waxed or parchment paper or plastic wrap. It is not as “perfect” looking as other crusts but I have used it for sweet & savory pies. With apple pies I usually add a little cinnamon or nutmeg to the flour.

  8. ashmacaroon October 21, 2007 at 10:21 am #

    Thanks, Fran! This sounds like an excellent crust for when I’m out of earth balance, I look forward to trying it!

Leave a comment